The games

Last night, I said I was going to purge my life of video games.

This has already been both easier and harder than I expected it to be. Last night, as I went through my games, I kept finding myself making arguments why a game should stay… and I had to keep forcing myself to stick to my promise. The thing that made it easier, honestly, was the fact that I made my goal public. I told the world I would do this, so I owe it not only to myself, but to anybody who stumbles across my blog. A little bit irrational? Maybe. But, so far, it’s working.

Now, I know I own more games than are on this list. But many of them are back in Texas, with my family. Over one hundred original NES games, many Gameboy games, Gameboy Advance, PlayStation, SNES, N64… These, I cannot take care of, right now. I can ask my parents to do so for me, though.

I’m pretty sure there are still some games hiding out in my apartment, somewhere, too. I only say this because there are some games I know I own, but cannot find. If and when they turn up, they will be getting sold, immediately.

And, this list obviously does not include the games I’ve downloaded – on Xbox Live Arcade, Wii Shop, Steam, or from various indie developers online.

I also was forced to stare two particularly bad truths in the face, last night. One, I had multiple copies of several games lying around. And I couldn’t think of a single good reason why this was. And two: there are several games that are unopened, and far more that I never finished. Particularly in the last couple of years, I got in the habit of buying a few games at the same time. And often before I was finished with the games I was already playing. I was always looking for the next, newer, better game.

The next thing of note: when I was done sorting through the games, there were maybe five that had met my criteria. When I realized that, I had to take a step back and ask myself if that was worth holding on to. Sure, these games are of historical and cultural significance. But, would somebody’s life perspective really suffer from never experiencing these games? No. So I’m getting rid of them, as well. All of my games are going. This means the systems are, too. I can use my laptop to watch movies, and even hook it up to my TV & stereo. That removes my one last excuse for keeping a system. And I was making the excuse, believe me.

Now that that’s out of the way, on to the list. If anybody wants any of these games, let me know. I will wait a week, and whatever is not spoken for is going to a Game Stop, or – for a few very special games that have actually appreciated in value – on eBay. As games are spoken for, I will come back and mark them off, here. And without further ado…

  • SNES
    • Chrono Trigger
    • Donkey Kong Country
    • Final Fantasy: Mystic Quest
    • Inindo: Way of the Ninja
    • Super Mario World
    • Uniracers
  • N64
    • 007 Goldeneye
    • Banjo-Kazooie
    • Bomber Man 64
    • Chameleon Twist
    • Extreme-G
    • Hexen
    • Killer Instinct Gold
    • The Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time
    • Mario Kart 64
    • Mortal Kombat Mythologies: Sub-Zero
    • Mortal Kombat Trilogy
    • Paper Mario
    • Pilotwings 64
    • Quest 64
    • Shadowgate 64
    • Space Station Silicon Valley
    • Star Wars: Shadows of the Empire
    • Super Mario 64
    • Super Smash Bros.
    • Tetrisphere
    • Turok: Dinosaur Hunter
    • Yoshi’s Story
  • Game Cube (These games will work on a Wii, as well – you just need a Game Cube controller)
    • Baten Kaitos: Eternal Wings and the Lost Ocean
    • Final Fantasy: Crystal Chronicles
    • The Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time/The Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time – Master Quest (Two game set) (This is a duplicate of the N64 game)
    • The Legend of Zelda: The Wind Waker
    • Mario Kart: Double Dash!!
    • Megaman Network Transmission
    • Megaman X Command Mission
    • Metal Gear Solid: The Twin Snakes
    • Metroid Prime
    • Metroid Prime 2: Echoes
    • Paper Mario: The Thousand-Year Door
    • Starfox Adventures
    • Super Mario Sunshine
    • Super Smash Bros. Melee
  • Wii
    • Avatar: The Last Airbender
    • The Legend of Zelda: Twilight Princess
    • Mario Kart Wii
    • Metroid Prime 3: Corruption
    • Super Mario Galaxy
    • Super Monkey Ball: Banana Blitz
    • Super Paper Mario
    • Super Smash Bros. Brawl
    • Wii Sports
  • Gameboy Advance
    • Final Fantasy IV Advance
    • Kingdom Hearts: Chain of Memories
  • Nintendo DS
    • Advance Wars: Dual Strike
    • Castlevania: Portrait of Ruin
    • Dragon Quest Monsters: Joker
    • Dragon Quest V
    • Etrian Odyssey
    • Etrian Odyssey II
    • Final Fantasy III
    • The Legend of Zelda: Phantom Hourglass
    • New Super Mario Bros.
    • Professor Layton and the Curious Village
    • Super Mario 64 DS (This is a duplicate of the N64 game)
  • PlayStation
    • Blaster Master: Blasting Again
    • Breath of Fire III
    • Breath of Fire IV
    • Castlevania: Symphony of the Night
    • Dance Dance Revolution: Disney Mix
    • Dance Dance Revolution: Konamix
    • Dragon Warrior VII
    • Final Fantasy Anthology
    • Final Fantasy Tactics
    • Kagero: Deception II
    • Mega Man Legends
    • Warhammer: Shadow of the Horned Rat
    • Warhammer: Dark Omen
    • Xenogears
    • Xenogears (Yes, two copies of the exact same game)
  • PlayStation 2
    • ATV Offroad Fury 2 (Unopened)
    • Baldur’s Gate: Dark Alliance
    • Breath of Fire: Dragon Quarter
    • Burnout 2: Point of Impact
    • Burnout: Takedown
    • Burnout Revenge
    • Castlevania: Lament of Innocence
    • Champions of Norrath
    • Champions: Return to Arms
    • Dance Dance Revolution Extreme
    • Dark Cloud 2
    • DDRMax: Dance Dance Revolution
    • DDRMax 2: Dance Dance Revolution
    • Devil May Cry
    • Devil May Cry 2
    • Devil May Cry 3: Special Edition
    • Dirge of Cerberus: Final Fantasy VII
    • Dot Hack: Infection
    • Final Fantasy X
    • Final Fantasy X-2
    • God of War
    • God of War II
    • Gran Turismo 3
    • Gran Turismo 4
    • Kingdom Hearts
    • Kingdom Hearts II
    • Lego Star Wars
    • Marvel vs. Capcom 2
    • Megaman X Collection
    • Megaman X-7
    • Metal Gear Solid 3: Subsistence
    • Odin Sphere
    • Okami
    • Onimusha 2
    • Shadow Hearts
    • Shadow Hearts: Covenant
    • Shadow Hearts: From the New World
    • Shadow of Destiny
    • Silent Hill 3
    • SoulCalibur III
    • Star Ocean: Till the End of Time
    • Tony Hawk’s Pro Skater 3
    • Tony Hawk’s Pro Skater 4
    • Wizardry: Tale of the Forsaken Land
    • X-Men Legends
    • X-Men Legends II: Rise of Apocalypse (Unopened)
    • Xenosaga Episode I
    • Xenosaga Episode I Movie DVD (Just the cinematics from the game…)
    • Xenosaga Episode II
    • Xenosaga Episode III (Unopened)
  • PSP
    • Archer Maclean’s Mercury
    • Dungeon Maker: Hunting Ground
    • Dungeons & Dragons Tactics
    • Dynasty Warriors
    • Final Fantasy
    • Final Fantasy II
    • Final Fantasy Tactics: War of the Lions (This is a duplicate of the PlayStation game)
    • Kingdom of Paradise
    • Lunar: Silver Star Harmony
    • Metal Gear AC!D
    • PoPoLoCrois
    • Ratchet & Clank: Size Matters
    • Rengoku: The Tower of Purgatory
    • Star Ocean: First Departure
  • Xbox
    • Castlevania: Curse of Darkness
    • Dance Dance Revolution Ultramix
    • Dead or Alive 3
    • Fable
    • Fable: Limited Edition Bonus DVD (Unopened – just extras for Fable)
    • Forza Motorsport (Unopened)
    • Gunvalkyrie
    • Metal Gear Solid 2: Substance
    • Ninja Gaiden
    • Silent Hill 2: Restless Dreams
    • Silent Hill 4: The Room
    • SoulCalibur II
    • Splinter Cell: Pandora Tomorrow
    • Star Wars: Knights of the Old Republic II
  • Xbox 360
    • Assassin’s Creed
    • Banjo-Kazooie: Nuts & Bolts
    • Batman: Arkham Asylum
    • Bayonetta
    • Bioshock
    • Bioshock 2
    • Blazing Angels: Squadrons of WWII
    • Blazing Angels 2: Secret Mission
    • Blue Dragon
    • Borderlands
    • Call of Duty 2
    • Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare
    • Crackdown
    • Culdcept Saga
    • The Darkness
    • Darksiders
    • Devil May Cry 4
    • Dragon Age Origins
    • The Elder Scrolls IV: Oblivion
    • Eternal Sonata
    • Fallout 3: Collector’s Edition w/ Lunchbox
    • Final Fantasy XIII
    • Gears of War
    • Guitar Hero II
    • Guitar Hero III: Legends of Rock
    • Infinite Undiscovery
    • The Last Remnant
    • Lego Batman
    • Lego Indiana Jones: The Original Adventures/Kung Fu Panda (Two game set)
    • Lego Star Wars: The Complete Saga
    • Lego Star Wars II: The Original Trilogy
    • Lost Odyssey
    • Lost Planet: Extreme Condition
    • Mass Effect
    • Mortal Kombat vs. DC Universe (Unopened)
    • Need for Speed Most Wanted
    • Ninety-Nine Nights
    • Overlord
    • Overlord II
    • Perfect Dark Zero: Limited Collector’s Edition
    • Project Gotham Racing 3
    • Rock Band
    • Rock Band 2
    • Sacred 2
    • Saints Row
    • SoulCalibur IV
    • Star Ocean: The Last Hope
    • Tales of Vesperia
    • Tomb Raider: Anniversary
    • Tomb Raider: Legend
    • Tomb Raider: Underworld
    • Tony Hawk’s American Wasteland
    • Too Human
    • Viva Piñata
  • PC/Mac
    • Anachronox
    • Baldur’s Gate
    • Betrayal in Antara
    • Civilization: Call to Power
    • Civilization II
    • Civilization II: Test of Time
    • Civilization III
    • Civilization IV
    • Civilization IV: Warlords (Unopened)
    • Command & Conquer: Red Alert
    • Command & Conquer: Red Alert – The Aftermath
    • The Complete Encyclopedia of Games
    • Daggerfall
    • Descent II: The Vertigo Series
    • Diablo
    • Diablo II
    • Diablo II (A second copy of the exact same game. I’m positive I have a third, somewhere)
    • Driver: You Are the Wheelman
    • Fallout 2
    • Final Fantasy VII
    • The Forgotten Realms Archives
    • Frogger: Hop To It
    • Galactic Civilizations II: Gold Edition
    • Grand Theft Auto
    • Grand Theft Auto (A second copy)
    • Grand Theft Auto – Mission Pack #1: London 1969
    • Hellgate: London
    • Heroes of Might and Magic Compendium
    • Icewind Dale
    • Lands of Lore: The Throne of Chaos
    • Lands of Lore: Guardians of Destiny
    • Lode Runner^2
    • Lords of the Realm II
    • Magic: The Gathering
    • Magic: The Gathering – Duels of the Planeswalkers
    • Masters of Orion II: Battle at Antares
    • Mechwarrior 2: 31st Century Combat
    • Might and Magic VI: The Mandate of Heaven
    • Myst III: Exile
    • Neverwinter Nights Diamond
    • Pax Imperia: Eminent Domain
    • Privateer 2: The Darkening
    • Quake II
    • Quest for Glory V: Dragon Fire
    • Riven: The Sequel to Myst
    • Septerra Core
    • Siege of Avalon Anthology
    • Spore
    • Star Trek: Birth of the Federation
    • Star Wars: Knights of the Old Republic
    • Star Wars Dark Forces II: Jedi Knight
    • Star Wars Episode I: The Phantom Menace
    • Thief Gold
    • Tomb Raider
    • Tomb Raider II
    • The Ultimate RPG Archives
    • The Ultimate Wizardry Archives
    • Unreal
    • Warcraft II: Tides of Darkness
    • Warcraft II: Beyond the Dark Portal
    • Level Master for Warcraft II
    • Warcraft III: Reign of Chaos
    • Warhammer: Age of Reckoning
    • Warhammer: Dark Omen (Duplicate of the PlayStation game)
    • Warhammer: Mark of Chaos
    • Warhammer: Mark of Chaos – Battle March (Unopened)
    • Warhammer 40000: Dawn of War – Gold Edition
    • Warhammer Epic 40000: Final Liberation
    • Warlords III: Reign of Heroes
    • Wing Commander: The Kilrathi Saga
    • Wing Commander IV
    • Wizardry Nemesis
    • World of Warcraft: The Burning Crusade

And there you have it.

2 Responses to The games

  1. Sweet fancy Moses man, that’s quite the library. I don’t know that I can kick games all together, I am trying to move towards social gaming though. I’ll give Mario Kart & Super Monkey Ball Wii a good home if they aren’t spoken for.

    Jeremy

    • Chris Hayes says:

      Mario Kart already has a home, but Monkey Ball is yours, if you want it. I’ve just been asking that people give me what they think is fair/they can for the games.

Leave a Reply

